maximum potential

these are the thought starters, insights, and inspiration to get you, and the brands you manage, to reach your maximum potential

are you any closer?

i can swim…

one of my 2009 goals is to learn how to swim.  it is mostly  inspired by my desire to avoid running in the zero degree weather that is  frequent in detroit.  and today it happened.  i swam 20 lengths (10x back & forth) with ease.  after weeks of watching videos, reading articles, and listening to experts, i can now swim.  and while my form and breathing technique still probably leave more to be desired, i am excited by the progress i have made in such a short period of time.  

you have to set goals…

at the beginning of the year,  most of us set goals.  and if you didn’t set goals for yourself or for your business, you should have.  however you decide to do it (jullien is picking one thing to focus on during the year, while alex is going to set one goal every 3 months) doesn’t matter;  what matters is that you set them.

you have to make progress…

but setting a goal just to set a goal is a worthless endeavor.  once set, you have to make progress.  we are now three weeks into the year, are you any closer?  what actions have you taken to ensure that your goals are not just another missed opportunity or a nice “to do?”  have you developed a plan to get there?  what actions have you taken?  setting goals is one thing, making progress is another.

Filed under: lifemark, personal branding, , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Arthur says:

    Detavio, is your blog deliberately designed to make other people (like me) feel like losers? :^)

  2. doug says:

    Getting healthy is on my list and I’m where I wanted to be by January 28. However, like you, I want to start swimming. I took swimming lessons for years when I was a kid (as you’ve discovered, it’s a great opportunity for exercise when it’s below zero outside).

    Now, if I can just keep stacking cash, then I’ll really be on my way.

  3. doug says:

    Oh, and this is great blog btw. You’re putting Marquis on notice.

    DW

Leave a Reply

get this blog in your email…

get this blog in your rss feed…

connect with me on…

my tweets…

