maximum potential

these are the thought starters, insights, and inspiration to get you, and the brands you manage, to reach your maximum potential

your title doesn’t matter

on your resume, on your business card, underneath the nameplate on your desk…you have a title.  and chances are, that title doesn’t matter.  take me for example,  group account director.  i don’t know, you tell me,  what do i do? does my title reflect how i best provide value to my organization?

what is my personal brand promise?  is that promise accurately reflected in my title?  what would happen  if i changed my title to match up with what i actually spend my time doing or to reflect what i really think i should be doing to provide the best value to my company and my clients?  would it change my behavior?  how people see me?  expectations?  

here are a few ways to know your title may not matter:

  • someone else gave it to you
  • you have the same title as the last ten people in your job (is the job really the same?)
  • you get more value from your title than the people you serve (your employees, superiors, and clients)
  • people see your title and have no clue what you do  

i don’t know about you, but i think i’m in need of a title change.

Filed under: personal branding, , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Arthur says:

    You are correct, sir. (Have you ever noticed my office email signature?)

  2. Toni says:

    Soooo…if you could pick your job title…what would it be?

  3. GV says:

    Why do titles matter? Because they are cheaper than promoting people!

    Great article, I get this feeling whenever I see “business development” or “strategy” in a title. Then again, all non-manager positions within Finance at my company have a “generic” title of “Finance Consultant”, so to some extent I think it recognizes that the title I put on my resume is going to differ from the boilerplate name that the Corporation stamps on my position.

  4. Tena says:

    I’m thinking Passionate Builder/Seeker of Brand Opportunities or Devoted Mentor would work 🙂 Think I could get them to put that on a business card?

Leave a Reply

get this blog in your email…

get this blog in your rss feed…

connect with me on…

my tweets…

